Hypnobirthing – removing the weird

weird-2

“Ugh, so we’ve got this bloomin woman coming round for the hypnobirthing thing tonight”

…a phrase perhaps occasionally uttered by the odd sceptical birth partner at work.

But – there are many many myths about taking a hypnobirthing class. Let’s bust a few shall we?

So, for some if there’s one thing worse than the prospect of attending a hypnobirthing course it’s having one in your own home so you can’t even leave. (Though I suppose technically you could if you wanted to?!) Someone is coming round to teach a course and as much as you try to force your brain to think polite thoughts sometimes natural wonderings about your teacher/course do occur…

Is she going to be weird?

Ha, some would say so but erm nope – just a normal woman with kids, a husband and a dog. I one day wondered about birth just like you. I found a great way to birth and love teaching and talking about it.

Sorry to ask but is she a hippie type who is going to make us all sit on bean bags and do weird stuff that makes us feel REALLY REALLY awkward?

Nope – nothing against bean bags but we can’t have them in our house anyway because of the dog. Unless you yourself choose to use one for birth I won’t be mentioning them. Same goes for wind chimes. I’m not a hippie though am vegetarian (non preachy variety) so potentially halfway there in the eyes of some people.

The techniques taught are a toolkit of options, there isn’t going to be a test. All I will do is explain them and they will be your choice to choose from when I am not there.

Is she herself going to do stuff that makes us feel really awkward?

Nope, it’s all about teaching various techniques and coping methods for you to decide which ones you would love for birth. I explain all methods and choices and the scientific reasoning behind them. No more awkward than a work training day (but hopefully less boring)

Is she going to be a natural birth police type who will ban all pain relief?

Certainly not! Informed choice is one of the most important messages of hypnobirthing. Lots of information and a balanced view on the pros and cons of ALL options. And by balanced I mean BALANCED. Not all the pros to my view and then a list of negatives to the opposing view. Being perfectly honest I couldn’t tell people what to do if I wanted to, every birth is so different that the “right” thing to do for one would almost certainly not be best for another. All choices will be absolutely yours and fully supported whatever they may be.

What if I don’t agree, want to question things or think something’s rubbish?

That’s fine! There are many techniques taught over the classes and it is human nature that some people think one thing is fantastic whilst someone else thinks it’s really not for them and decides to focus on another. This is actually all about you so whatever you choose is correct, what works best for you is the right thing for you. The idea is you feel comfortable and happy with your choices. I’ve birthed three children of my own, all very different births. Ask anything you like, no discomfort here.

Are we going to have to participate in role play, presentations and group work etc?

Oh the horrors – definitely not. When I explain certain things I may ask your opinion but that’s all, I love my couples to talk to me, the many different views I have heard in different classes have brought a lot to the table ideas wise and otherwise. But that’s it. Different birthing Mums and Dads want different things and I like to know what their preferences are so I can facilitate them.

Is she going to show graphic pictures etc that have squeamish people running for the hills?

No. I do show a baby being born but it’s not the sort of hideous thing often seen in GCSE biology or some of the more sensationalist TV shows. It’s more an image of how gentle birth can be and focuses on the calm demeanour of mum rather than any gynaecological shots. I always ask before showing anything anyway so people do still have a choice.

So let’s get one thing clear – I still hate how the name is misleading, but hypnobirthing is what it’s called so hypnobirthing it shall be, as off putting as it sometimes is there’s a lot more to it than just the ‘weird’…

Private Hypnobirthing classes – a surprisingly normal experience…

*disclaimer – of course I have absolutely nothing against wind chimes (or bean bags for that matter) to facilitate a peaceful birth environment. But nor would I stereotypically force them on anyone either!

calminthebirthroom.weebly.com

Leave a comment